• en
    • fr

- Charles Proust Competition -

The competition –

A competition back in the spotlight since 2006

The 2018 Relais Desserts Charles Proust Competition


The Relais Desserts Association has put the Charles Proust competition back in the spotlight since 2006. Therefore this pastry historic and prestigious competition has been called the Relais Desserts Charles Proust Competition ever since. It invites talented pastry professionals every even year at the Paris Chocolate Trade Show.

The next event is scheduled for October 2018.


An illustrious competition


The Relais Desserts Charles Proust event is one of the competitions pastry chefs love most.

As the emblem of a whole profession for close to fifty years, the competition was taken over in 2006 by Relais Desserts, which combines high expectations of quality and creativity therefore asserting the level of excellence of the competition. Relais Desserts brings a new dimension to the competition in choosing to organize it every other year in public, at the Paris Chocolate Trade Show.

The 2018 enrolment will begin before the end of the year 2017. The competition is open to all pastry chefs, chocolate, ice sculptor and ice cream makers, regardless of nationality.

For more information, do not hesitate to come back to our website for further information.
You can also subscribe to our Facebook page where the information will be published.



The latest edition took place in 2016.

1st Prize and Artistic Prize: Nicolas RIVEAU who works at the Valrhona School in Tain-l’Hermitage (France).


2nd Prize as well as Tasting Award and People’s Choice Award: Gen SASAKI, from Caroline Pastry in Tokyo.


3rd Prize: François DAUBINET, from Le Taillevent restaurant in Paris.


Press Award: Adrien PETITGENÊT who works at Jean-Paul Hévin in Paris.



Nicolas Riveau’s artistic piece, which won 1st Prize as well as the Artistic Award.



The Tokyo Caroline Pastry chef Gen Sasaki’s work.



François Daubinet’s work, Charles Proust 3rd Prize.



Adrien Petitgenêt’s creation that won the Press Award.


The prizes were awarded by a jury of experts, among which Jean-Philippe Darcis, president of the artistic jury, Claire Damon, president of the tasting jury, Mercotte, president of the People’s Choice jury and Philippe Toinard, president of the Press jury… Jacques Bellanger was the Honorary President, winner of the MOF (Finest Worker of France) 1982, Charles Proust Competition and member of the Relais Desserts Organization.



The members of the jury and the new graduates of the 2016 edition





Nicolas Riveau surrounded by: left Frédéric Cassel, right Pierre Mirgalet and Laurent Duchêne.




Gen Sasaki, surrounded by: left Frédéric Cassel, right Claire Damon and Laurent Duchêne for the rewarding of the Tasting Prize.




Gen Sasaki receiving the 2nd Charles Proust Prize. Left, Frédéric Cassel. Right, Pit Oberweis and Laurent Duchêne.

- Enter Your Location -
- or -