Thursday 13 August 2020
CONTACT

Cacao Forest

Home Cacao Forest

The project

Respecting earth and people

Cocoa Forest innovates for tomorrow’s cocoa farming.

This project, led by a group of NGOs made of engineers, agronomists, cocoa manufacturers and Relais Desserts, wants to find an alternative to intensive cocoa farming, which is escalating and seems to unavoidably be dominating.

Cocoa Forest wants to prove that agro-forestry farming, the traditional way of growing cocoa, will be in the long term the only alternative to intensive farming and the guarantee of a quality cocoa bean respecting earth and people.

Cocoa Forest is an ambitious project.

Even if today agro-forestry seems like David versus Goliath (intensive mono-culture), we are strong believers in the importance and the relevance of participating in such a project and to see it to fruition.

To know more about our project, visit the Cacao forest website.

The crux of the project

And what if agro-forestry was the solution?

Chocolate makes children’s eyes light up and excites gourmets’ taste buds. It is rare to find an ingredient that generates such a planetary consensus! Nevertheless, at the origin of chocolate, cocoa farming is not always a fairytale.

During the last few decades, chocolate consumption has greatly increased. Cocoa has become a speculative commodity, handled like a financial product, increasingly separated from its nature of cultivable plant.

Intensive farming has grown with the terrible side effects we know: soil depletion, deforestation, lower bean quality and variety diversity and finally, great financial difficulties for small growers. The ambitious idea of Cocoa Forest was born to protect the quality cocoa production sector but also to ensure the sustainability of small producers by making them more productive, therefore autonomous and of course all the while protecting the environment in a long-lasting way.

And what if agro-forestry was the solution?

In order to find an alternative to intensive cocoa farming, Cocoa Forest intends to develop agro-forestry. This traditional way of growing cocoa combines several varieties of plants inside the cocoa plantation. Just like permaculture, agro-forestry creates a sort of symbiosis within which the diversity of the whole helps each one.

This way of traditional farming is still widely used in small plantations but it is far from being optimized. Therefore the cocoa production is extremely inferior to the one of the monoculture intensive plantations.

So, the project’s goal is to prove that agro-forestry is the sustainable and responsible solution to intensive cocoa farming.

It respects the soil, the environment and guarantees the producers autonomy and a certain living wage.

The other plants grown on the plantation may generate some revenues for the farmers as well (such as heating wood, fruits, etc.) Thus, the producer is no longer dependent on the sole production of cocoa and his revenues are no longer season-based.

Find all the monthly project advancements on the field in our “news” pages.

Partners

A slew of unprecedented players

Started in 2015, Cocoa Forest unites a fantastic panel of the cocoa and food-processing sector players.

Cocoa Forest is run by a Scientific Interest Group (Groupement d’Intérêt Scientific or GIS) composed of :

  • CIRAD: Center for agronomic research
  • L’ISARA: Superior Institute for Agronomic Studies of the Rhône-Alpes Region
  • TFT (The Forest Trust): Swiss NGO, which works on a better worldwide eco-system
  • Investors who work directly with the cocoa sector: Alter-Eco, Bonneterre, Relais Desserts, Révillon, Valrhona, Weiss.

The GIS members meet 4 times a year during “COPIL” (Comités de Pilotage). As a member, Relais Desserts participates in the COPILs in order to be up to date on the progress of the project and participate in the decision-making process.

So, Relais Desserts is an active member of this project.

Actions in the field

Concrete and transposable headway

The project started in the Dominican Republic and should soon move onto Peru.

Today, 2 experts have been appointed on a full time basis in the Dominican Republic, just for Cocoa Forest:

Martin, of CIRAD, who is specifically in charge of the agronomical aspects, production techniques and cadastral plots… Alexandre from TFT coordinates the sales and logistical aspects of the project.

The project has three major components:

An agronomical focus:

  • Analysis of the existing cocoa plantations (density, variety, age and tree trimming, species that co-exist on the plantation) and the actual production
  • Protocol elaboration of agro-forestry tests
  • Follow-up on the tests, adaptation and recommendations

A sales focus:

  • The stakes of agro-forestry are for the growers to live comfortably from their harvests.
  • To help the growers find sales solutions for the plantation production: fruit sales at open markets, production of heating wood, sales to local industries to make fruit juice and smoothies.

A human focus:

  • The project is built around the idea of helping producers but in no way to impose on them methods from elsewhere.
  • Cocoa Forest has the ambition to make producers autonomous, allow them to unite in order to make joint decisions and have more leverage when they organize as cooperatives.

At the end of July 2017, Cocoa Forest negotiated partnership contracts with three Dominican Republic producers’ cooperatives, which represent 72 plots situated in key regions to implement testing of productive agro-forestry.

vendredi 30 octobre 2020
CONTACT

Cacao Forest

Home Cacao Forest

Le projet

Dans le respect de la terre et des hommes

Cacao Forest innove pour la cacao culture de demain.

Ce projet, mené par un groupement d’ONG, d’ingénieurs agronomes, de transformateurs de cacao et de Relais Desserts, a pour ambition de trouver une alternative à la culture intensive du cacao qui s’intensifie et dont la prédominance semble inéluctable.

Cacao Forest veut prouver que l’agro-foresterie, mode de culture traditionnel du cacao, sera à long terme la seule alternative à la culture intensive et la garantie d’un cacao de qualité dans le respect de la terre et des hommes.

Cacao Forest est un projet ambitieux.

Et même si aujourd’hui l’agro-foresterie est comme David devant combattre son Goliath (la mono-culture intensive), nous sommes convaincus de l’importance et de la pertinence de participer à ce projet et de le mener à son terme.

 

Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site Cacao forest.

L’essence du programme

Et si l’Agro-foresterie était la solution ?

Le chocolat illumine le regard des enfants et les papilles des gourmands. Rares sont les ingrédients qui génèrent un tel engouement quasi planétaire. Pourtant, à la source du chocolat, la culture du cacao n’est pas toujours un conte de fée.

La consommation de chocolat s‘est fortement amplifiée durant les dernières décennies. Le cacao est devenu une matière de spéculation, gérée comme un produit financier et de plus en plus déconnectée de sa nature de plante agricole.

La culture intensive s’est développée, avec les effets désastreux qu’on leur connaît : appauvrissement des sols, déforestation, baisse de la qualité et de la diversité des fèves cultivées et, enfin, grandes difficultés financières des petits producteurs. D’où l’idée ambitieuse de Cacao Forest, de préserver des filières de production de cacao de qualité mais aussi de pérenniser les petites productions, en les rendant plus productives et donc autonomes, et bien sûr en protégeant durablement l’environnement.

L’agro-foresterie

Pour trouver une alternative à la culture intensive du cacao, Cacao Forest projette de développer l’agro-foresterie. Ce mode de culture traditionnel associe plusieurs variétés de végétaux dans la cacaoyère. Comme la permaculture, l’agro-foresterie crée une sorte de symbiose dans laquelle la diversité de l’ensemble bénéficie à chacun.

Ce mode de culture traditionnel est encore largement répandu dans les petites exploitations mais il n’est pas optimisé. Le rendement en cacao est donc extrêmement inférieur à celui des cacaoyères intensives en monoculture.

L’objectif du projet est donc de prouver que l’agro foresterie est l’alternative durable et responsable à la culture intensive du cacao.

Elle respecte le sol, l’environnement et garantit aux producteurs l’autonomie et un meilleur pouvoir d’achats.

Les autres végétaux cultivés dans la cacaoyère peuvent également générer des revenus financiers aux producteurs (bois de chauffe, fruits, etc.). Ainsi le producteur n’est plus dépendant de la seule production de cacao et ses revenus ne sont plus saisonniers.

Retrouvez tous les mois l’avancement du projet sur le terrain dans nos pages Actualités.

Les partenaires

Une variété d’acteurs inédite

Démarré en 2015, Cacao Forest fédère un formidable panel d’acteurs de la filière agroalimentaire et cacao.

 

Cacao Forest est dirigé par un GIS (Groupement d’Intérêt Scientifique) composé de :
  • Le CIRAD : centre de recherche agronomique
  • L’ISARA : Institut supérieur d’études agronomiques de Rhône-Alpes
  • TFT (The Forest Trust) : ONG Suisse: qui œuvre pour un meilleur eco-system au niveau mondial
  • Des bailleurs de fonds en lien direct avec la filière cacao : Alter-Eco, Bonneterre, Relais Desserts, Révillon, Valrhona, Weiss

Les membres du GIS se réunissent 4 fois par an lors de Comités de Pilotage (COPIL). En tant que membre, Relais Desserts participe aux COPIL afin de suivre l’avancée du projet de participer aux prises de décisions.

 

Relais Desserts est donc un membre actif du projet.

Les actions terrain

Des avancées concrètes et transposables

Le projet a démarré en République Dominicaine et devrait s’étendre prochainement au Pérou.

Aujourd’hui, 2 experts ont été mandatés à temps plein en République Dominicaine pour Cacao Forest : Martin, du CIRAD qui est plus particulièrement en charge les aspects agronomiques : relevés des parcelles, techniques de production, etc. et Alexandre de TFT, qui coordonne les dimensions commerciales et logistiques du projet.

Le projet s’articule autour de 3 axes majeures :

Un axe agronomique :

  • Analyse des cacaoyères en place (densité, variété, age et taille des arbres, especes qui cohabitent dans la cacaoyère) et de la productivité actuelle
  • Elaboration des protocoles de tests agro foresterie
  • Suivi des résultats des tests, adaptation et recommandation

Un axe commercial :

  • L’enjeu de l’agro-foresterie est de permettre aux producteurs de vivre confortablement des produits de leurs récoltes.
  • Aider les producteurs à trouver des débouchés commerciaux aux produits des cacaoyères : vente de fruits sur les marchés, production de bois de chauffage, vente aux industries locales pour fabriqués des purées de fruits, des jus, etc….

Un axe humain :

  • Les projet est construit de manière à proposer un renfort aux producteurs mais en aucun cas de leur imposer des méthodes venues d’ailleurs
  • Cacao Forest ambitionne de rendre les producteurs autonomes, de leur mettre de se regrouper pour prendre des décisions communes et peser plus forts s’ils s’unissent en coopératives.

À fin juillet 2017, Cacao Forest a négocié des contrats de partenariats avec 3 coopératives de producteurs en République Dominicaine, ce qui représente 72 parcelles implantées dans des régions clef pour implémenter les tests d’agro-foresterie productive.